HobbyHarri











{September 7, 2011}   14 Days and All You Need to Prepare for Uni

Ack. 2 weeks today I’ll be settling into Cardiff Uni. I’m feeling a large amount of evil joy at the fact that all the local kids are back in school – we have a small prep school down the road so we can hear their cries from our living room. Keeps my mind off any worries about the immanent future…

I’ve figured that any advice to do with things that need to be done in order to go to, enrol in and settle into University, is not useful advice. Once accepted, from then on in you’ll be guided through all the important & official things and prompted enough that the only advice you need is this: Pay attention and get on with it, but most of all enjoy the holiday and don’t worry about the future. That’s all.

Nonetheless I will keep recording my experiences and feelings through this whole process. I know how important it is for people to know what other people going through the same experiences are feeling. Knowing that other people are scared too, even if for a little while and even if they’re hiding it very, very well. That’s one of the wonderful things about blogging – I’m free to be perfectly honest and express myself, to tell potentially the world or no one how I feel and what I think, and to not care either way. I mean I hope so much that someone, somewhere will read something I write, and it’ll be just what they needed to hear, that it’ll help them somehow. At the same time, I don’t really care if no one ever reads these, because I’m just so happy to have this outlet where I’m being honest and true to myself. For me, I don’t think there’s anything more fulfilling.

Oh yes, that’s the other piece of advice Freshers need to know: everyone’s going to be nervous, scared and homesick. If you think someone’s not,  they’re good at hiding it (and you’re better at hiding it than you realise too). If anything, the more confident, energetic and totally un-insecure they seem, the more fragile they feel inside. To be honest (cos I can, ha!), I don’t believe this. I should. At the very least to some extent. I just can’t get to grips with the idea that other people, particularly the ‘popular kids’, are the same on the inside as I am. It’s an outsider mentality that I need to break, I’m sure it’s very irrational but then I’ve never known anything else, so..

We had a trip to the Morgan car factory today – very interesting but my love of things consice made it a little harder to endure. I’ll upload a couple of pics tomorrow, and if you’re lucky a short video clip showing off those beautiful cars, yes I’ll advertise tomorrow. And big bro made us s’mores for pudding :}

I think I’ll sleep well tonight. Sleep tight. xoo

Comment?

et cetera
