HobbyHarri











{October 20, 2011}   Self-Development and Graffiti

I thought that, seeing as the first year at University pretty much doesn’t matter academically, I should really try to talk advantage of all the extra-curricular activities available this year. <WARNING: BORING BIT AHEAD> Yesterday I went to a self-improvement event, looking at networking. We had to make a list of skills and then say what that means in a way that could make you hire-able. So for example; I can speak spanish, which means that I can work with a wider range of clients and work abroad. I think it would really help with CV writing too. <BORING OVER>

Today’s thing was a Graffiti class with the Art Society. We took taxis to another part of Cardiff and spent a couple of hours learning the basics of Graffiti art. After standing in the freezing cold spraying the word “Grapefruit” onto a very long board and getting fuzzy edges in some spots and dripping paint on others and so on, you really appreciate good graffiti more when you see it. It takes a lot of practice to get good at that as an art. That being said, we did a pretty good job on making ‘Grapefruit’ look jazzy. Unfortunately I forgot my camera, so it might be a while before I can get photos of the finished work up. They’re doing a canvas session tomorrow (with free materials), so that’ll be tomorrow’s thing and Friday is the watch-Derren-Brown’s-new-tv-show day, so that’ll be good.

I’ve also been interested in fairy tales recently after watching Anastasia and Thumbelina for the first time since I was a kid, so I’ll be working on those kinds of stories too. I’m particularly interested in the older fairy tales, like where the fairies were called ‘fay’ and weren’t tiny winged people but beings with a normal0sized human appearance that may be demons, who lived in another world, who were mean and powerful, perhaps even psychotic, who are unable to lie but will use wording to confuse and mislead… I love those kind of, uncomfortable fiction. You know the kind of fiction that you’d think twice about calling ‘fantasy’.

Midnight. I’ve watched too many weird Youtube videos today. If anyone’s interested, you can find there an exclusive online clip for Derren Brown’s new series (creepy and interesting), Tim Minchin, Jimmy Carr and Eddie Izzard on ‘The Green Room with Paul Provenza’ (funny and rude) and the newest installation of ‘Yu-Gi-Oh! The Abridged Series’ (random ‘lulz’).

Comment?

et cetera
